Skip to content

2012 Reads

01/02/2012
tags:

Even though the list of books I long to read keeps growing longer and things unfinished stress me out, it’s bad not to have a goal, right?  I constantly add books to my list, so I’m sure it will change frequently.  I mainly read non-fiction as I am constantly searching for wisdom and at the risk of repeating myself so much you may want to puke- ways to be intentional.  However, I can’t pass up a good fiction book that transports me to another place!  Words are beautiful to me, that’s probably why I can’t get enough.  So here it is, a list of the books I aim to read in 2012:

Currently Reading:

Ten Ways to Destroy the Imagination of Your Child by Anthony Esolen

The Underground History of American Education by James Taylor Gatto

Parenting/Education:

A Landscape with Dragons: The Battle for Your Child’s Mind by Michael D. O’Brien

The Mysteries of Life in Children’s Literature by Dr. Mitchell Kalpakgian

Created For Work: Practical Insights for Young Men by Bob Schultz (ignore the insanely terrible cover)

Rite of Passage by Jim McBride

Raising Real Men: Surviving, Teaching, and Appreciating Boys by Hal and Melanie Young

Wild Things: The Art of Nurturing Boys by Stephen James and David S. Thomas

Faith:

Of course, more of the Bible!

Jesus Calling: Enjoying Peace in His Presence by Sarah Young

Escape from Reason by Francis A. Schaeffer

Beyond Ourselves by Catherine Marshall

Fiction:

The Hunger Games trilogy By Suzanne Collins

So there you have it.  For one reason or another, I have come across these books and they have piqued my interest.  I’ll let you know how they are.  Please send me your recommendations of books I HAVE to read!

Image by Daniel Y. Go

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

