Skip to content

Warrior Prayers-Day 2-Obedience

09/06/2011

At the end of day 1,  I already feel different, not only because I feel like I’m doing more of what I should have been doing as a mom, but because of the extra time alone with God in prayer and in His Word.  And we are only now on Day 2! YAY!

Today’s prayers are for our sons obedience.  There are some more “ouch” moments for me in this one (or as Deanne stated on FB, calls to action).  The author says, “Ladies, if your man cannot submit to Jesus, he cannot lead you.  A man must be willing to be led before he can truly lead.”  Our boys need to first learn to obey from us.  I think sometimes in today’s culture, it is so tempting to give our children everything they want and think we are doing them a favor.  As painful as it is for us mommies, I constantly have to fight those feelings and remind myself of the outcome in the long run of doing that….men that won’t be led by anyone (God).  “If our boys never learn the importance of obeying and see their inability to obey by themselves, how will they ever recognize their need for a Savior?”

Again, that’s enough to give me a good kick to get out there and do something!  However, Brooke also states something of great importance.  Yes, we CAN MAKE our sons obey us…” however, “obeying God is intimately linked to loving Him.  If we focus too much on forcing our boys to change their outward behavior, and forget to hold out the great depth of love that sent a Savior to the cross, we’re running the risk of raising little Pharisees.”

Yet again, God reminded me of a verse my sons and I just studied together…(don’t you love how He does that)…

Whoever has my commands and obeys them, he is the one who loves me.  He who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I too will love him and show myself to him.” -John 14:21

Mommy prayer for Day 2:  I pray for the strength to persevere in the challenge of praying the 10 prayers in obedience for our sons today and that God will move in their hearts.  As we pray for our sons to have obedient hearts, I pray we examine our own and ask the Savior to help us live out His great love for us so that our sons will see how truly valuable it is.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

