Skip to content

Warrior Prayers Day 1- Heart Change

09/05/2011

I am so excited for all those who are joining together to help encourage each other to pray for the next generation of men…our boys! If you know me, you know I believe in doing everything intentionally!  It’s needs to be no different with our prayers.  And I don’t know about you, but I need help being held accountable.  I hope we can lift each other up and push each other on.

(The other posts will be shorter, I promise.  Since it’s the first one, I just wanted to make sure to convey all the necessary information. :)

Feel free to leave comments here or on our Facebook group.  Please share your favorite questions and/or the ones you’d like have someone else answer.  Also, click here to go straight to the Warrior Prayers blog.  I’m excited!  Let’s get started!

Day One- Heart Change

Ouch!  It’s the first thing I thought when I read this quote in today’s chapter: “Our sons don’t know the Father God, because their fathers (and mother’s) don’t know the Father God.”  Yikes.  Notice she didn’t say “know of the Father God”.   Many of us know of Him, but do we KNOW Him? And do we show it? “All it takes to lose the truth of the Word of God is one set of parents who fail to teach it.”  That’s it!  It’s not going to be me….or you!  Let’s take on this battle together!

Chapter 1 Prayer for us boy mommies: I pray that God shows each of us the ways that we’ve failed to raise our sons to know and love Him and how we can change this to bring glory to Him.  I thank Him for the way He has led each one of us so far.

After all, He hand picked us for our boys.  We can do this!

Commit to praying the 10 prayers in the HEART CHANGE chapter today.  “The most foundational thing we can ask God for in the lives of our sons is heart change.  The Word says that what’s in the heart eventually comes out.  Bad stuff in the heart?  Bad stuff comes out.  Good stuff in the heart?  Good stuff comes out.”

Are you ready?  You can do this in 1 of 4 ways:

1.  Get up early and bathe your sons in prayer first thing in the morning.

2. Pray the prayers one at a time throughout the day.

3.  Make the prayers a part of your family devotion time, praying the prayers out loud over your sons.

4. Spend some time in concentrated prayer at night, around bedtime.

NOTE to moms whose boys have already left home or grandmothers whose grandsons don’t live in your home: consider writing a note to send once a day with the prayers you have prayed for your sons.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kasey Moran permalink
    09/06/2011 8:21 am

    I am going to do #3… I have some one on one time with him every afternoon after work so I’d love to sit with him and read the prayers with his name in them. :)

    This is so important and now more than ever it’s so crucial to be intentional about raising our boys to know and love the Lord. Thank you Lord for what you are doing and how you’re working in us Mommies!

  2. Katrina Kirkendall permalink
    09/06/2011 3:13 pm

    It is wonderful to be so intentional throughout the day….. in prayer for my Cole! And it feels so good to be concentrating on just one of my 3 kids. Don’t get me wrong; I’m still praying for the others.

    I found it scary that my first thought was to make excuses for Eli’s worthless and Godless sons. Scary! Note to self….. stop making excuses!
    This is so good.

Leave a Reply

