Skip to content

Why is that Man Following Me with a Straight Jacket?

06/28/2011

WOW!  I have a blog?  What???

Anyways, I can’t remember a time in recent history when I’ve been this tired!  But, I’m sure in the next couple of days I will beat it!  I came down with a terrible case of insomnia last week and this week my house is filled to the brim with 7 kids and 3 adults (my sis and her girls are visiting for VBS).   Pair that with the fact that we have to get up at 5am and we stay up late getting things ready (and visiting) and you end up with one delirious momma!  Therefore, everything in the blog post I may regret posting and will probably not make sense to most of you.  So, of course I’m going to share anyway!

It all started last week when I thought of something really “funny” to tweet at 4 in the morning when I had not yet fallen asleep.  It came to me in a great state of delirium and I thought it was so funny I laughed at myself for a good while…something that happens quite often.  I picked up my phone to post it several times but talked myself out of it when I couldn’t remember the password to my phone (that should have been a clue as to my mental state).  In the morning I decided to try it out on my husband.  He stared at me blankly as if I had lost my mind, which still very well could have meant it was funny because we have totally different senses of humor (evidenced by his lack of peeing his pants over metal chickens).

I never did tweet it, but naturally, I’m going to post it here, and will probably still tweet it too.  Here was my tweet in my mind (though I’m sure it’s not under 140 characters…it never is, have you seen how much I talk???)

Insomnia night 2: I guess I could count sheep, but my kids hate it when I make them dress up in sheep costumes and jump over little fences.

WHAT??  Where did that come from?? I did share it with Angie (my bff) and she thought it was hilarious.  Of course, that could only confirm my insanity because crazy attracts crazy, right?

So then today…day 583 of no sleep, I was taking pictures of the dark circles that are quickly emerging below my eyes (why? because I was hiding in my room from the 7 kids…duh!) and in one of the pics I look like an alien.  I can’t decide if that’s awesome, terrifying or terrifyingly awesome, but I digress.  In one of the pics one of my eyes is crossed.  It’s never done this before so naturally I freak out and take about 15 more to see if it does it again. Here is the conversation that soon follows with Angie via texts and heytell: (and try to keep up, even I can and I haven’t slept:)

Ang: “My sister (who is in the car with her) wants to know if you have a phone that you can type really fast on because Good Lawd, that a lot of writing.”

Me: “Cut me some slack, I haven’t slept in a week.

Me: “and why are you avoiding the question?  Why? Why?

Ang: “I’ve never noticed O to have a lazy eye unless it’s O. Lazy instead of O. Beautiful (singing…..) O. Lazy Eye for goofy spaces…..”

Ang: (random) “I was trying to show my sis that blog and it kept autocorrecting to boogers……to boogers….BOOGERS.”

Me: (try to follow) “Of course it could have something to do with the fact that I was holding the camera inches away from my eyes….and I’m sleep deprived..ahhhh.”

Me: “Either that or being in my vulnerable state and messing with taking pictures so close to my face has given me a lazy eye and messed up my vision forever.”

Ang: “Or you took it from the side causing your eye to look to the side.”

Ang:”I just showed my sister that blog post and we almost peed our pants.”

Ang: “What’s up with Ry?” (my son)

Ang: “And now you know my new goal….to be able to cross one eye the next time you open the door.”

Yes, that is a glimpse into my crazy life or a glimpse into life of crazy!

Of course I won’t leave you hanging, here is the alien pic.  Am I right???  And don’t show it to anyone…or I’ll hunt you down with my alien like super powers!

Maybe I’ll start freaking out that I look like an alien next!

One Comment leave one →
  1. 06/29/2011 10:02 am

    EKKKKK! That is a scary pic Jen! Seriously I love ya hope you get some sleep soon!
    Hugs,
    Melissa

Leave a Reply

