Skip to content

DON’T Read this Book!!!

10/25/2010

IF….

  • you want to remain comfortable. “This book is not a Snuggie. The words on these pages with not go down like Ambien.  I’m not writing to calm or coddle you.”
  • you don’t want to be stretched. “With God’s help, I intend to incite a riot in your mind.  Trip your breakers and turn out the lights in your favorite hiding places of insecurity and fear.  Then flip the switch back in so that God’s truth can illuminate the divine destiny that may have been dormant inside you for years.”
  • you don’t want God to rock your world by allowing Him to do BIG things through you. Like He did through Joshua when He answered Joshua’s prayer for the sun to stand still.
  • you don’t want to live audaciously!! “I’m out to activate your audacious faith.  To inspire you to ask God for the impossible.”  “If you’re not daring to believe God for the impossible, you’re sleeping through some of the best parts of your Christian life.”

If you’ve ever read my blog, you know that I love to read.  I read a lot of books.  I then forget a lot of what I’ve read.  I pray I never forget what I read on the pages of Sun Stand Still.


Now, I may be biased as to why I love this book so much, but hear me out.   I received this book at the Newspring Leadership Conference 2010 after the author, Steven Furtick, generously gave every attender a pre-released copy.  I started reading it right away, in mid-september and read and reread chapters so much that I am just now finishing.  Now, don’t be afraid, it is not a complicated book, I just really wanted everything I read to sink in!

So let me tell you why I might be biased and then you can read it and decide for yourself ;).

  1. It came to me at a time of great searching and of stirring in my heart by God. Months before Aaron and I headed to South Carolina for NLC2010, God started stirring something in me.  Essentially God was working on me to fight complacency and reject passivity in my life.  He kept giving me thoughts of “there must be more to being a Christian than this” feelings.  I didn’t know what exactly to do with these thoughts or what they all meant for my life.  I shared them with my closest friends, prayed, and waited.  Then at this conference and for the rest of our trip, God grabbed me in a way He never has and started putting all the pieces together.  (Now, they still aren’t all together, but it’s been and continues to be an amazing process that I can see the hand of God in every step.)  I left the conference thinking “every person spoke about everything God has been placing on my heart” and then it only continued as I picked up this book!
  2. I listen to Steven Furtick’s podcast and greatly believe in what God is doing through him.  If you want to hear more from him, click here.

So really, I do think everyone should read this book, BUT FIRST:

  • Pray that God teaches you His truths through the pages of the book.
  • Prepare to be changed.  Ask God to enable you to not be the same after you read this book as you were before.  TAKE ACTION!
  • Know that this book isn’t the answer to all your questions….however, it points to the One who is.  After all, it’s a book about doing big things with your one and only life for the One and Only who all of life is about!

So read this book and read the Bible, and pray how exactly God is going to use it’s contents in your life specifically!  That is what I am doing!!

*all quotes by author, Steven Furtick

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mandy Lee permalink
    10/25/2010 12:48 pm

    I am doing the same thing! I bought it probably two weeks ago and Im only three maybe four chapters into it because everytime I pick it up, I start over from the beginning. And amazingly, I learn something new everytime I start over! I love the concept of a Page 23 moment..

Leave a comment