Skip to content

The Heart Mender by Andy Andrews

05/07/2010

As you can probably tell by now, I’m a book junkie.  I love to read, although sometimes I don’t get to do it as often as I would like.  Although my life has been quite busy recently, I couldn’t put this book down after about page 2.  That meant the book came with me everywhere to pick up when I had a spare moment.  I even stayed up late several nights telling myself “Just one more page!”, then 20 pages later and a glance at the clock at 2am, forced myself to wait until the next day for the info I was searching for.

The story is a heartwarming one about Helen, who is heartbroken and bitter because of losing her husband to the Germans during World War II.  She happens upon a German soldier on the Gulf Coast that is in need of her help to survive.  I love this story of forgiveness and second chances.  I don’t want to give anything away, but the story is intriguing and sucks you in immediately.  It has it’s roots in history and that may be one of the reasons I love it so much, as I am drawn to period pieces.

As of late, I have tried to stay away from fiction as much as possible and stick to books that will add to my knowledge and encourage me on my walk with Christ.   Although this is a fiction book, the author claims that most of it is true.  If you are desiring a book that will take you to another place and time and teach a lesson on forgiveness in the process, this is the book for you.

Here is the best part!  Thomas Nelson was generous to give me another copy of this book to give away on my blog.  All you have to do is leave a comment and I will pick a winner by next week!  So if you have a desire to “escape” to the time of World War II and German U-boats…just leave me a comment and you could be the winner!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their Book Review Blogger program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

