Skip to content

One of These Things is Not Like the Others…..

02/02/2010

….One of these things just doesn’t belong,
Can you tell which thing is not like the others
By the time you finish my blog?

IMG_0912

What does it mean to be set apart?

What does being different look like?  Sound like?  Think like?  Act like?

I’ve been contemplating this a lot lately.  I feel I am too much like the world.

Do those that come into contact with me know that Christ lives within me?

Do my words express it? Are my words kind?  Well thought out?  Based on my beliefs?  OR Are they brash?  Quick out of my mouth?  Based on my emotions?

Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.” Ephesians 4:29

“My dear brothers, take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry” James 1:19

Does the way I treat others show it? Do I drop everything to help someone?  Even someone I struggle to love?

“You have heard that it was said, ‘Love your neighbor and hate your enemy.’ But I tell you: Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you” Matthew 5:43-44

The entire law is summed up in a single command: “Love your neighbor as yourself.” Galatians 5:14

It all stems from the heart….are my motives right? Do I do good things for the praise of man????

“Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit, but in humility consider others better than yourselves.”  Philippians 2:3

“Be careful not to do your ‘acts of righteousness’ before men, to be seen by them. If you do, you will have no reward from your Father in heaven.” Matthew 6:1

“let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven.” Matthew 5:16

Am I thinking like the world? Do I worry about things that won’t last?  (Do I worry PERIOD?)  Do I wish for bigger and better this and that?

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.” Philippians 4:6

We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.” 2 Corinthians 10:5

How am I spending my money? Am I constantly trying to keep up with the Jones’?  Am I accumulating things that won’t make me happy anyway? OR am I thankful for what I have…even if it’s not as much as many (but a whole lot more than the majority of the world) so I can spend my money on things that REALLY make a difference for the Lord?

“For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”  Luke 12:34

How do I spend my time?  My kids time? Do I constantly do things that have no eternal value?  How much TV am I watching?  Are my kids over-scheduled?  Is every night consumed with an activity and therefore,  sacrificing teachable and special moments because of it???

What do I expose myself to? What do I see in movies?  On TV?  What do I read in books?  Magazines?

One of my college professors that is dear to my heart gave me a gauge for deciding on what things are ok to watch, say, etc.  He said, “Would you do it if Jesus were sitting in the room with you?  Because he is.”

I’ve found that I need to take inventory of all these things regularly.  It’s easy to become complacent, slowly but surely, where the line between where I am and where should be begins to fade.  I challenge you to do the same today…to becoming passionately different for Christ.

Are you in??

One Comment leave one →
  1. 02/04/2010 10:18 am

    Great post Jennifer. Thanks for the challenge. I’ve been reflecting on these same things recently.

    This is my first visit to your blog. I just had to find out details about your fun detective party. What a fun idea.

Leave a Reply

