Skip to content

Preparing Him for the Other Woman // Book Giveaway!

01/19/2010

Let me just say that I realize some of you will think I am CRAZY after this blog post…but I really am ok with that :).  I just came across a book called Preparing Him for the Other Woman by Sheri Rose Shepherd.  Here is a snip-it of what it’s about:

Preparing Him for the Other Woman

This timely message gives mothers the faith, wisdom and strength to raise a toddler or a teen to grow up to be a great husband and a man of his word…equipped to remain faithful and experience a happy and healthy family.

It’s true…A Mother’s influence can change the success rate of the next generation’s marriages.

What a great gift to give to our sons!

The time is now to prepare our boys for victory.

We do not have to wait for the world to change its moral fiber to win this war against broken homes, broken hearts, infidelity and divorce.  A mother is the first lady in her son’s life and her love and influence in her beloved boy’s life can help change the success rate of the next generation’s marriages and rebuild the foundation of family … one boy at a time.

Let me start off by saying that YES, like you, this is something I’d rather not think about just yet….I want my babies to be babies and at home with me forever!  I am in NO hurry for them to grow up and move out!  But the fact remains….the day is coming, and it will come faster than we expect!

It has been put on my heart to be proactive in this with my boys.  Just by raising them in a Christian home leaves no guarantee that they will automatically know how to be a good husband.  I love how this book uses prayer, God’s Word and education of a woman’s heart to teach boys of all ages how to one day lead their families.

After reading the first few chapters of this book, I started really thinking about the boys’ future wives.  I have been praying for them for sometime now even though I don’t know who they are.  I went out today and purchased 3 journals.  I have committed to filling their pages with prayers for these women along with my prayers for my sons on their journeys to be the husbands God has created them to one day be.  I plan to give them to my future daughters in law on their wedding day. (I just completed the last chapter a few minutes ago and she suggests doing this….no wonder I love her as an author!)

I also purchased 2 more copies of this book.  I am giving them away!  You could be the proud owner of one!  If you are interested, all you have to do is answer this question and I will pick 2 winners (or maybe I’ll make my husband do it)!

Is there something that you don’t like to think about, but God is calling you to prepare for?  If so, what is it and are you committed to doing so in obedience?


3 Comments leave one →
  1. Chrissy Pratt permalink
    01/21/2010 7:27 am

    Wow, that is a loaded question that gets us thinking about things we dont want to think about. Thanks. :o)
    I saw the book cover at the top of your blog and almost came to tears. Like you wrote that preparing your sons for that other woman is not something that you really are eager to do and that you want to keep them as your babies forever… I completely agree and understand. But also like you I REALLY want my son to be one of those men that girls would try so hard to snag cause he is the catch of a lifetime. A godly young man that is undistractable with his relationship with God… and of course handsome. :o) A young man that will know how to love and treat a woman the way a husband should treat his bride. So, like you… this is a touchy subject that I dont want to think about but know I should.

    I know this is not a new idea like your question was at the end of your blog, but it is 7:30 in the morning and Micah is crying in the other room. Thats ok… you now have me thinking. BUT… I did want to tell you that your blog encouraged me to be proactive about getting ready for that BIG day in my sons life… which is hopefully FAR away. :o)

  2. Cyndi Davis permalink
    01/21/2010 8:30 pm

    After hearing a Wayne Watson song in the 1980’s, called “Somewhere in the World”, I began praying for my future husband. The song is about Wayne Watson praying for his young son’s future wives and that Jesus would write His Name on their heart, etc. I was single and began praying for my future husband and his parents, siblings, dating relationships, etc. I met him a couple of years late and know that God answered all my prayers. I have prayed for my daughter and son’s future spouses since they were born faithfully, at least every week their whole lives. But, I never, ever thought about keeping a journal for them. I LOVE that idea!! How precious that would be to present them as a wedding present (or engagement present) that they have been loved and cherished even before our family knew them. Thanks for the idea!!

Trackbacks

  1. Warrior Prayers Day 8-Purity « boy oh boy oh boy

Leave a Reply

