Skip to content

Are You Teachable?

06/03/2009

classroom

Words For Wednesday:

I believe that life is FULL of teachable moments.  Even times that aren’t so great can be used to teach our children lessons.

An example is a time I will never ever forget…it was the first time my child experienced loss…and I didn’t rush to heal the pain.  Caden was in preschool and LOVED rockets and planes.  While he was in school I bought him a plane that you pumped up and then let fly.  It could fly up to something like 300 yards.  You have never seen a child so excited!  We decided to test it out that night at a park that was basically a big open field.  Man did that thing fly……all the way across the park, across the street, all the way to the other side of the grocery store next door.  The whole time we were playing, 2 kids on bikes were next to us at the park watching Caden play with this plane.   As soon as that plane took off, those boys took off on their bikes and we ran to chase it down.  After an hour of searching the parking lot for the plane, we asked an employee if he had seen it.  He said yes, 2 boys on bikes took off with it.  I was SHOCKED to say the least.  They had seen my poor little 4 year old playing with his plane with such excitement…and had chosen to steal it.!

My first instinct, as I watched my little one cry, was to run to the store and buy him another one.  But after some reflection, I decided it was more important for him to learn a valuable lesson than immediately make everything better.  As he cried, we talked about how bad he hurt, and the boys decision to take something that didn’t belong to them.  I asked him if he liked how he was feeling at that moment.  Of course he didn’t.  We talked about how someone else would feel just like he did if he ever made the decision to steal.  It was one of the hardest things I ever had to do as a parent…but he has never forgotten that night.  He realized how much sin not only hurts the person doing it, but it hurts others as well.

Do you use everyday moments to teach your children lessons?  What about you, do you allow God to teach you through your experiences?

Are you teachable?

image by Dystopos

One Comment leave one →
  1. 06/03/2009 12:41 pm

    Wow, Jennifer. Amazing story. You are a wonderful parent. I wonder if I would even have thought that way, I hope that I would have.

Leave a Reply

