Skip to content

The Things I Learn From My 4 Year Old

05/20/2009

Words for Wednesday is once again brought to you by my 4 year old.  Yes, I promise that Caden does talk, it just seems that Rylan has been full of wisdom and comedy this month!

Rylan is my little encourager.  He is always telling me that I am beautiful, no matter how I look.  The other day, when we were getting out of the car, he said to me, “Mommy, you still look beautiful, but…..you might want to check your hair before you get out of the car.”  (it was standing straight up)  It was so sweet.  He wanted to save me from looking foolish.  He told me that in love, even if it was hard for him.  He didn’t want to hurt my feelings, but he didn’t want me to be embarrassed either.

This got me thinking about how we should correct each other in love.  If we see something that another brother or sister in Christ (whom we are close with) is doing something that could harm them, we should follow Rylan’s prompting.  Out of love, and only out of love, should we confront this person to help them make the right choices.  It is often hard, but we need people in our lives to keep us accountable and to help us strive to be more like Christ.  I am glad I had my little man remind me of that.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 05/20/2009 7:23 pm

    very nice post!

  2. Chrissy Pratt permalink
    05/21/2009 10:46 am

    He is such a sweet heart!

  3. 05/21/2009 10:47 am

    Where is my picture??? Hmmm, how can I get that picture up???? Oh well.

  4. Eileen permalink
    05/25/2009 8:38 am

    That is one of the sweetest things I’ve ever read!

Leave a Reply

